On Top of the World

BEWARE… a whole lot of climbing ahead.

BEING SO HIGH UP YOU CAN TOUCH THE CLOUDS: 9. I couldn’t actually feel them though…

LAYING ON MY CRASH PAD ON TOP OF A MOUNTAIN GETTING READY TO CLIMB: 9.5. Seriously. Best start to the day ever. Only thing that would have made this better would have been Enya playing in the background. You know you love it.

DECISION TO BRING THE CRASH PAD: 9.5. I really can’t think of a single thing that makes that a poor choice. It was a little hard to hike down there with that thing on my back though…

THE CLIMBS: 7. Set up three routes for the day, all around 5.6-5.8 so not super challenging but definitely good stuff. Decided if I ever set my own route it’s going to be called ‘Swan on Water’. In fact, the top of the third one I went so off route that I’m pretty sure I created my own new one. And until someone tells me differently I’m naming it that.

ANDY’S SKILLS: 8. For his, what, fourth time on the wall, this guy is rocking out. I love it.

MY NEW CLIMBING SHOES: 8.5. WAY more comfy than my old ones, only $29, AND purple. My only concern is that Claudia has the same ones and they smell HORRIBLE. I’m going to keep telling myself it’s her feet and not the shoes, so that way it won’t happen to mine.

ANDY’S RIDICULOUSNESS: 10. Love having that kid around. Today was no different. Him and Claudia get an 8 too for my matchmaking skills. Only made me throw up in my mouth 2 or 3 times today.

BOULDERING: 6. Pretty decent, definitely worth it, but only about 2 short problems on the boulder we found. Still fun to play on though and always good to get a little more practice in considering I only have TWO WEEKS till I get my butt kicked by all the little girls in the Female Beginner division in Charlotte. Can’t wait πŸ™‚

TRIP TO PILOT: 10 for overall score. The weather couldn’t have been more perfect (while 93 back down in the real world, up there it was 75-80 and breezy the whole day), the group was a ton of fun, and the climbing was great. Seriously couldn’t have asked for a more perfect Sunday. Unless there had been Enya…

Now off to see ‘The Women’ with some girls from work. I do love a good chick flick now and then..

10 comments

  1. You and Andy have some pretty nice ass shots while climbing…definately a 10! ; ) Oh, and I am not gonna lie, I am a little jealous of your purple shoes…

  2. I have the same purple shoes you do too and they smell pretty bad. I’ve had them a year now and don’t take them anywhere without some Febreeze. I think it’s because they’re synthetic and not leather. Maybe your feet are magical and won’t smell in those shoes πŸ™‚ Good to see that you’re enjoying North Carolina!

  3. SEE!! It’s not my feet! It’s the shoes!!
    Shoes – rated for comfyness = 8
    Shoes – rated for ability to use in public without embarassment = 0.2
    Do I wear them in public anyway? Of course πŸ™‚

  4. I think I need to change my rating for Sunday to a 9.5. Totally awesome trip. Weather was beautiful. The company was GREAT!

    The -.25 comes from having to go straight to softball in 94 degree weather directly after coming down off the mountain. Maybe next time we could go on a Saturday, nap, then go out for drinks and commence in some jack-assery. Sunday = SLEEP. Getting up at 5:30 in the morning is for farmers… I have no cows.

    The second -.25 comes from not giving it my 100%. Could have done better. Next time I’ll get some sleep the night before. Can’t wait for the next time.

    Lastly, sure, it’s the shoes. πŸ˜€

  5. Getting up at 5:30 is good for you, Andy. Builds character. πŸ˜‰

    And, yeah, Claudia’s shoes. Can sometimes still smell ’em up here in Merryland. πŸ˜€ I’m tellin’ ya, liners work wonders to combat that! Even if they look a little geeky.

Leave a Reply

