The Universe Will Speak

MY SMARTASSNESS:  5.  Sometimes I really appreciate this personality characteristic/flaw because it makes life more interesting.  I get bored if people are serious all the time, and I love people who get my ‘sense of humor’ and throw it right back at me.  I’ve found recently that in writing, however, it doesn’t always come off as well as I planned.  You can’t just throw in that smile at the end to assure everyone that you are, in fact, just kidding.  For those avid readers, you probably noticed the post late last night poking fun at some comments.  Unfortunately it didn’t go over so well and I feel bad that me being a smartass wasn’t exactly what I had planned… I’m working on it.

LEAVING THE HOUSE IN THE PITCH BLACK: 2.  It just feels unnatural.  No one’s supposed to leave their house when it’s still the middle of the night.  However this morning I was forced to as I headed to Gaston, and needed to arrive there by 8.  DId I mention the only thing I don’t like about fall is the shorter days?  Good news is you get to see the sunset while you drive.  Except for today when it was cloudy, overcast, and storming.  Awesome 🙂

SHOWING UP AT MY OLD SCHOOL AND HAVING SEVERAL TEACHERS START RATING THINGS: 8.  To run into teachers and have them reference the rating system without having spoken to them in months was hilarious.  Makes me wonder who else is reading that I would never expect… when I see over a 100 hits a day I always assume it’s the same people (you know who you are) returning 30 times a day while they’re bored at work, but apparently there is a larger audience.  Would be a 10 if they joined the discussion (thanks Stallings for stepping up!)…

SEEING OLD KIDS: 10.  Seriously, I can’t explain the feeling other than to say this is what a smiling heart feels like.  To see Jamaine when I walked into a room made my day.  There’s no way I can explain this 10.  So I’m just including a picture 🙂

STARGIRL: 8.  I LOVE this book and was reminded of it when I got to sit in on Ms. Urbanczyk’s class and watch the kids making their own Stargirl collages.  In fact, I’m pretty sure I’ve figured out my Halloween costume.  Anyone wanna be my Leo? 

Only thing taking off points is the sequel, ‘Love, Stargirl’.  In all fairness I need to finish it, but was so disillusioned by the first half that I put it down.  

“You know, there’s a place we all inhabit, but we don’t much think about it, we’re scarcely conscious of it, and it lasts for less than a minute a day…. It’s in the morning, for most of us. It’s that time, those few seconds when we’re coming out of sleep but we’re not really awake yet. For those few seconds we’re something more primitive than what we are about to become. We have just slept the sleep of our most distant ancestors, and something of them and their world still clings to us. For those few moments we are unformed, uncivilized. We are not the people we know as ourselves, but creatures more in tune with a tree than a keyboard. We are untitled, unnamed, natural, suspended between was and will be, the tadpole before the frog, the worm before the butterfly. We are, for a few brief moments, anything and everything we could be. And then… and then–ah–we open our eyes and the days is before us, and–we become ourselves.”

“The earth is speaking to us, but we can’t hear because of all the racket our senses are making. Sometimes we need to erase them, erase our senses. Then–maybe–the earth will touch us. The universe will speak. The stars will whisper.” (Stargirl speaking, pg 91)

“She was illusive. She was today. She was tomorrow. She was the faintest scent of a cactus flower, the flitting shadow of an elf owl. We did not know what to make of her. In our minds we tried to pin her to a corkboard like a butterfly, but the pin merely went through and away she flew.”

AMOUNT OF THINGS TO BE BROUGHT BACK AT ANDY AND BG’s HOUSE: 7.5.  As I looked around there was stuff to bring back EVERYWHERE.  This is exciting, nostalgic and just plain fun, however I wonder if it never seems to have left their lives if it would really count as a bring back… but it was a great way to close out ‘Bringing it Back Week’!

      

ANDY’S DECISION TO PLAY WITH A COPPERHEAD WE FOUND IN THE PARKING LOT ON THE WAY BACK FROM THE DATE AUCTION: 3.5.  Entertaining at first, I will admit, it got a little scary as he whipped out his flip flop and really started to piss the guy off.  Was I surprised when he tried to bite him?  Not even a little bit.  Did I feel bad?  Not so much… 

 

Off to Charlotte for my first bouldering competition ever!  Did I mention that after registering for the Women’s Beginner division I got an e-mail reminding me to bring my signed waiver for my under-18 year old child?  This should be interesting…

3 comments

  1. how about the difference between rating in the moment and post-moment rating? do you always use the numbers there and then, and have you ever decided to go back and change a rating after reflecting on a situation and scenario, to decide that it wasn’t so bad (or good) as you first deemed it?

  2. Playing with a baby copperhead? That gets a 1, babies don’t know how to control their venom and can be more dangerous than a 4ft copperhead.

Leave a Reply

