Mt. Dew puddles and flying dogs

GOOFING OFF WITH KIDS: 10.  I know, I know.  Enough about the kids.  I promise this is the last one, but I needed a good excuse to post these pics of the little ones.  And by little ones, I clearly mean high schoolers who are now taller than me.

Jovonn calling us out on our untucked shirts after we made him tuck his in...

You know they're spending too much time together when their expressions are almost exactly the same

        

    

TECH DEPARTMENT: 8.  To understand this I’m gonna have to give you a little context.  During my two years as a Teach For America corps member I was placed as a middle school technology teacher.  At my school there weren’t any other tech teachers and not much of a tech department… I spent two years trying to figure out what that might look like, and in the process getting really excited about what technology can do for the way we teach.  After leaving there are now two teachers team-teaching tech, and I get to come back occasionally to work with them (explaining why I was in Gaston for the past three days) and we actually have an official Tech Department!  Every Friday a different department gets the day off for professional development, and Tech just earned it’s first department day coming up in November!  Big happenings in Gaston, and I’m a huge fan.

LIFE ADVICE FROM SHAIF: 8.5.  Oh how I love the terrific life advice I get from Mr. Shaifer during our brief time outs from intense tech talk.  I think I’m going to start compiling things I need advice on for the next time I head there… I do love lists 🙂

LA TOLTECA: 10.  First of all, there’s no such thing as too much Tolteca.  For those of you who’ve been there you understand.  For those of you who haven’t, you’re gonna have to trust me on this one (or you can drive two hours Northeast to Roanoke Rapids and check it out for yourself- if you’re looking for company there’s also no such thing as too far to drive for some Tolteca…).  That being said, I went to Tolteca again for dinner tonight 🙂  Pulled up at 5:45 and was literally the only car in the entire parking lot.  My favorite servers were there, and I knocked out a bunch of work before some old friends joined me.  I then LOVED every bite of their Chicken Mole (which I’m glad Jon introduced me to, because it’s totally the Mexican version of Japanese curry and is quickly changing my life) and got ready to drive back home.  Great service, great food, great white dip, GREAT employees.  Again, there’s nothing that could add to the experience.

DRIVE HOME: 2.  I made it home safely.  After the rest of the drive that’s saying a lot and worthy of two points.  Let’s just say I decided to head back 85 (sort of the back way) trusting my killer instincts behind the wheel.  However, remembering the turns on a bunch of windy roads in the middle of nowhere, at 9 o’clock at night is a little different than with directions in the middle of the day.  Not a whole lot of room for error if you’re not sure where you are, because it seriously might be 20 minutes before you see anything besides fields and hay barrels.  Stopped at the only gas station out there to get a Mt. Dew (which then spilled on the floor of my car when I was forced to slam the breaks on for the second time… picture Murphy flying forward from the back seat at the same time) and asked for directions just to make sure I was headed in the right direction.  The woman’s response was ‘I love you, which is why I’m not even going to try and answer that’.  

Seriously, doesn’t knowledge of the area come with the job description of working late nights at a gas station?  I thought she was kidding.  She wasn’t.  

Now add in such serious fog that you can’t see past two feet in front of you, a ton of windy turns (hence Murphy flying forward twice), very little sleep the past three nights and a near death experience for both a deer and a dog.  That and a guy trying to get me to do drugs with him at a gas station a little closer to Durham.  I might up it to 3 for making it back alive.  And for the coffee which got me so wired I was able to blog after getting home 🙂

GAS PRICES IN RORAP: 7.  I’m a fan.  $3.44 is the least I’ve paid in a LONG time.  In fact, I’m pretty sure I filled up tonight for $32.  Okay, so it was kinda 1/4 of a tank full already, but still…

Happy Friday!  Tomorrow the Reel Rock Film Tour is in Raleigh!!!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

