NYC to Durham…

So I’m not quite sure how this happened, but I seem to be a day off on my posts (actually, I do know how it happened… without internet access, and with SO many things to rate in NYC I got a bit behind). That being said, here are my ratings from the last part of my NYC trip 🙂

LINE AT LUNCH: 9. Seriously confused by this one. I introduced the rating system to my table at lunch (see the rating below) and this was Matt’s first attempt at a rating after waiting forever for the line to die down. If this is my check for understanding of my explanation of the system then it’s a good thing I left the classroom. I have no clue how he came up with 9, but he promised to leave a comment and back it up, so check below.

LUNCH: 8. So both days now on top of the lunch (yesterday was chicken and salmon, today create-your-own sandwich) they had this incredible grilled vegetables. Seriously, an entire tray of zucchini, red pepper, mushrooms, and eggplant. Totally vegetarian friendly. Big fan. Thank you New Yorker.

DESSERT: Another guest rating from Josh, our new friend from the Chicago office. The face doesn’t really fit the rating, so again I’m pretty sure I taught the system pretty poorly… Hopefully he’ll leave a comment explaining the context of the rating.

LUNCHTIME CONVERSATION ABOUT RATING: 9. Absolutely LOVE the initial conversations you get right after introducing to someone the idea of the rating system. While a lot of the same ideas are often brought out, people continue to push my thinking and it’s pretty fascinating how deep a simple rating system can get. Today was no exception, especially thanks to Matt and Josh, but definitely everyone at our table as well.

THE NAME ‘TATE’: 10. I LOVE IT. Discovered Courtney’s middle name and am in love. In fact if I ever decide to have kids I’m naming the first one Tate. He’ll go by Tater for fun.

NY CITY DINERS: 6. I wish they were healthier, but NY made me definitely miss the good old fashioned 24-hour diner. I love Elmo’s in Chapel Hill, but it just doesn’t cut it for the classic diner, and definitely isn’t open 24 hours. However I hate that even the healthiest option is probably still grilled in tons of lard. But then again, isn’t that everyone loves it so much late at night anyways?

NYC APPLE STORE: 7.5. Absolute craziness. So when I was in high school Dan and I used to hang out at Wal-Mart late at night. If we lived in Freeport I’m pretty sure we would have hung out at L.L. Bean which is also open 24 hrs. (365 days/year too!), and if we lived in NYC I can now confidently say we would have spent our late nght hours at the Apple Store. First of all, the outside’s pretty. Secondly, the store is huge with all kinds of fun toys to play with. You can even make phone calls on the iPhones! The staff was super helpful and I got exactly what I wanted 🙂 Rating on that to come later with a little more exposure… However the store was crazy crowded (even at 10pm) and really hot which got pretty uncomfortable. Still had a great time 🙂

I’m gonna go out on a limb here and do something never before been done. A pre-rating

GETTING UP AT 3:30 TO CATCH A 6:20 FLIGHT BACK TO NC: 3.5. Gets me back in time to work on Friday so I don’t have to take the day off, and allowed an extra night in the city to visit with Brent but honestly, I can’t imagine a 3:30 wake-up call could come even close to getting above a five. Plus, there’s no way I’ll be able to be productive on the plane when clearly I’ll barely be able to keep my eyes open. Sometimes you just gotta take one for the team.

That’s it for the big city up north. Off to New Orleans on Tuesday for some more city adventures 🙂 Happy Friday!

2 comments

  1. I forgot to discuss this with you last night, but I think you should allow guest ratings. You could have a guest rating of the week. They could be related to Rate Your World or just a guest spot. Give it some thought…

  2. mmmm I think the face expresses my general dubious feeling towards the rating system, because giving that dessert an “overall” score was so difficult. Taste, timing, the rapidly diminishing marginal utility of each bite… does the number 8 really capture that?

    Maybe 80.

Leave a Reply

