Requesting a Rating on ‘Rate Your World’

2.

I’m sorry to those who may feel called out by this, but I’m not a big fan of the rating request. 

“Don’t forget to bring your camera Janice!  You wanna make sure you’re able to rate our experience hanging out today…”   Awesome.

I’m sensing that some of my friends/readers may be hanging out with me solely for the benefit of receiving a blog feature the next day.   Okay let’s be fair, this doesn’t happen all that often.  But when it does I rate it a 2.

And after a rating request, do I really have the option of rating an experience honestly?  Doesn’t this actually affect the integrity of the blog by putting unnecessary pressure on me to have an exceptionally good time so the ratings high and no one’s left disappointed?  And doesn’t all that pressure actually end up impacting the entire experience?

However, some good points have been made in opposition.  I get excited when folks read and comment.  And what incites reading and commenting more than being the feature of a blog post?  Turns out not much.  In fact, you may have noticed that the posts with the most conversation are always the ones featuring my friends.  The more direct the connection, the more conversation.  You all never seem quite as motivated to comment on things such as orange kit-kats or the colorfulness of my desk (can’t blame you, to be honest).  So perhaps it should earn some extra points for boosting readership.  I’ll give it a 3.

3 comments

  1. In fact, you may have noticed that the posts with the most conversation are always the ones featuring my friends.

    and murph!

Leave a Reply

