The Mall at Christmas Time

8.  I know, many of you are thinking I’m crazy that it gets this high of a rating.  However, after much thought here’s what it comes down to.

1) The mall is so much more exciting at Christmas time.  There’s Christmas music and decorations EVERYWHERE.  I recognize the impact of these two things are not the same for everyone, but for me they bring back feelings of shopping with my Grandma on Christmas eve, and that makes me happy.  I don’t care if they start in November; in fact, I’d rather they start in October so I could enjoy it for longer 🙂

ryw-015

2) The sales!  I had no idea there were so many good sales around Christmas time!  I should have known, but when I really think about it, it doesn’t make any sense.  This is the time of year when people don’t have a choice but to buy things, so why are they putting everything on sale?  The only thing I can think of is that everyone’s spending so much money on everyone else, that by putting things on sale they’re playing to our selfish side and encouraging us to buy for ourselves as well.  I throw this out there as a guess only because I’m hoping that I can blame several of today’s purchases on that…

3) The crowds.  I will acknowledge this, and in fact it can be so painful at times it’s worth a -2.  This goes for both the crowds in the stores and even worse the drivers!  While trying to find a parking spot today I felt like a stalker… anyone with bags had me following them super slow in my car for at least 2 or 3 minutes until I realized they were just dropping them off to go back for more.  Clearly. 

Overall though, I heart mall visits any time of the year.  But especially at Christmas 🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

