My Love for American University

10!!!

logo-american-university

While as a student I heard constant criticism about lack of eligible men, the non-existent football team, and the at-times overly politicized student population, for me and AU it was love at first sight.

I still remember my AU Orientation where I fell in love with the school, and I remember the years following where the love grew through working as an Orientation Leader, living in Hughes hall, being an RA in Anderson Hall, the SPA Leadership Program, working at Chef Geoff’s, Quadfest ’05 and ’06, Five Guy’s Tuesdays, and general life in DC. 

Now that NCAA Tournament time has come around again, and AU is getting ready to fight Holy Cross for the Patriol League title and a spot in the tournament for the second year in a row, I am reminded again of that love that is sometimes hidden away for 11 months of the year.  I am brought constant joy by the facebook updates showing AU love and the Gchat messages reminding me that ‘Once an Eagle, Always an Eagle’ is more than just a chant.

That being said, today at 4:45 on ESPN2 the Eagles will be battling their way into the tournament.  And I will be the loudest, proudest AU fan at Tyler’s Taproom in Durham.  Feel free to join, but only if you’re bringing AU support 🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

