Michigan Road Trip

First, I want to apologize for the lack of posts recently. Second, I want to be honest and say this may be one of the lasts before August. I finish up my work here at Teach For America at the end of next week, and will be headed up to New England from there. As soon as I return I’m headed out to LA to work at TFA’s Summer Institute there until the beginning of August. While I certainly hope to include some ratings during that time, it’s more than likely that I’ll be too busy to keep it updated regularly. So that being said, enjoy some ratings from the recent road trip to Michigan!

IMGP0106

BRIAN’S DRIVING: 9. Overall I have to give this a high rating (despite the picture) since he drove almost the entire way. I’m pretty sure I drove the first hour or so, but after that it was all him. He even let me sleep for a little before poking me to keep him company.

IMG_0020

KEEPING THE PUPS IN THE TRUNK: 8. While usually I put both the back seats down and let the dogs roam around there, this trip I decided rather than buy a car barrier I could actually keep the seats up, pack our stuff on the seats, and give the dogs the whole trunk. It was PERFECT. They literally didn’t make a sound the whole trip, and just looked out the windows or napped the whole way. -1 because every time I wanted to check on them, or see how cute they were cuddling together, I had to unbuckle and crawl all the way to the back of the car. Probably not the safest… -1 because when the sun was in the wrong spot it shined directly on them and even the air conditioning on high couldn’t keep them cool enough (meanwhile freezing us out in the front seat).

IMG_0026

AMOUNT OF FAST FOOD EATEN: 3. It’s earning three points for 1) the taste (come on, we all love the taste of gross fried stuff), and for the fact that we had coupons for all of it. Other than that, I felt gross pretty much the entire time I was in the car due to all the unhealthy foods we ate (fried chicken, Arby’s curly fries, Quizno’s and milkshakes, just to name a few). Note to self: buy a cooler and pack lunches.

IMG_0028

SECOND VISIT TO VILLA MACRIS: 9. Just as good as the first. I hate to admit it, but I wasn’t adventurous and went with the same meal I got the first time I was there. 1) because it was delicious, and 2) because where else can you find an Eggplant Meatball sandwich??? Plus, when we went to the bar to check out the beers on tap, the bartender informed us of some $1 beer specials. And mine was DELISH. -1 because the homemade potato chips were burnt again. Weird that I still remember that from my first visit there…

IMG_0056

IMG_0057

FLASH FLOODING ON THE DRIVE HOME: 1. While I always have an internal debate about what kind of weather I like on a road trip (nothing kills me more than being stuck inside a car when it’s beautiful outside), I can confidently say I don’t like the kind of rain we saw on the way back. Made driving scary (although again, Brian did really well), I was worried about thunderstorms and tornadoes the whole way, and we ran into some flash flooding in Ohio that could have ruined my car. We even got off the highway to enjoy the view in Virginia, and the rain had caused it to be so foggy that we couldn’t see a thing. Excellent.

One comment

Leave a Reply

