Mason Jennings showing up on my plane to LA

7.

For those of you who don’t know who Mason Jennings is, I’m sorry for you. I luckily discovered him my first year of teaching from a housemate from Minnesota, the same place as Mason. He’s a folksy type singer who plays guitar and sings some pretty sweet songs. I think half of me loves him for the actual music, and half for the memories it brings back of my first year of teaching. Either way, I’m a huge fan.

So you can imagine my excitement when I was sitting at my gate in Minneapolis, getting ready to board to LA, and Mason walks up. At first I wasn’t entirely sure it was him. But then I saw him carrying a guitar, and a guy joined him with another guitar (clearly his entourage). I quickly googled him on my phone, enlarged the picture and held it up to make sure. Yup, it was confirmed. Mason Jennings was about to board my plane to LA. I was giddy, and about 10 minutes later he was on to me, and gave me the ‘why are you staring at me creepy girl?’ look.

IMG_0169

IMG_0170

We began boarding, and while he was in first class I was in the second row of coach, so could see him the entire flight. I spent most of the three hours planning my lines so I could finally meet him at baggage claim (my decided upon location).

‘Mason Jennings? I thought it was you. I’m a huge fan of your music!’

‘Mason- you singlehandedly got me through my first year of teaching. THANK YOU!’

‘So, you playing around here soon?’

When we arrived in LA I hurried to baggage claim as I was trying to make a 4:30 meeting on campus. He wasn’t there yet. My bags were some of the first off the belt. Still no sight of him. How did this happen? My bags are NEVER first! The one time I need them to be last, they’re first. I wish this were my excuse for leaving with no introduction. But it’s not. He arrived as I was wheeling my giant cart out, but I chickened out. I’m embarrassed to admit it, but I passed up my chance.

Overall made the trip more exciting, however:

-2 for not actually talking to him. I’m going to regret that for a while.

-1 because while he was in first class, the dude in his entourage was in coach. Not cool, and way too elitist. Oh well. I’ll get over it.

Check out his video… he’s pretty awesome.

P.S. I’ve added a category to the blog called ‘Celebrity Spotting’.  I think this may be necessary for my summer in LA…

2 comments

  1. YOU of ALL people would be the one to talk to him! What happened!?
    Add this to the list along with the guy from the bachelor. At least you talked to him though…

Leave a Reply

