My Happy Wagons

It is so nice to be home.

I’ve had a great time traveling, and it’s definitely taught me one big thing.  I wasn’t entirely sure before I left if I was still living in NC because it was the easy choice after having been here for the corps, or if it was because this is the best place for me.  One thing I’ve learned is that I LOVE North Carolina.  And more importantly, the incredible people here.  That being said, on to the happy wagons 🙂

I know I’ve talked before about the incredible book ‘Stargirl’ by Jerry Spinelli, but yet another treasure found there is Stargirl’s ‘happy wagon’.  It’s a small toy wagon she fills with pebbles, removing them for times she feels unhappy or upset, and adding pebbles when she’s happy.  It’s a constant gauge of her current happiness.  I have LOVED this idea as a great way to evaluate your life, and what needs to change to fill your ‘happy wagon’.  So, I’ve been on the hunt for a happy wagon for quite some time now, but surprisingly they’re rather hard to find.  But finally the day has come.  I found two antique wagons on eBay that are perfect, and they’ve just arrived.

IMG_1358

SO, as of this evening several things added to the filling of my happy wagon.

The framily came over for our first dinner in a while, and I must say my heart genuinely smiled tonight more than it has in a long time.  These people are just good people, end of story. The theme was tomatoes, and we ended up having a delicious potluck.

IMG_1348

Homemade, and store bought, salsa, fresh tomato and mozzerella, gizpacho (?), pasta with veggies, and a fabulous tomato soup cake.  That’s right, Lauren even found a way to sneak tomatoes into her dessert dish.  I’m loving it 🙂

IMG_1349

IMG_1352

Flowers from Paul and back-to-school gifts from Snook put it over the top, and overall this was the best welcome home night ever.  Not to mention it was proceeded by the classic Sunday morning climb and visit to Weaver Street.

IMG_1357

Overall it was definitely a 9 night.  -1 because Laura couldn’t be with us 😦  WE MISS YOU!

7 comments

  1. AWww! That was such a super sweet description of a rating!!! I SO VERY MUCH missed you and framily dinner night last night. You guys all made my night with the group serenade and solo!!! Rock stars you are. 🙂
    And – – – I LOVE the happy wagon idea, too! I”m so glad you have found a wagon – that’s so fun. 🙂
    Looking forward to seeing you on Thursday evening!! 🙂

  2. You just totally and completely rock this world! Pretty much like “total eclipse of the heart” – next time I wanna hear it! Can we find a place that starts before 10? 😉
    I love, love, love the little wagon! That was so thoughtful of you.
    Snooky wants to give you a group hug! 🙂

    And, I’m sure your mom has a support system, but if she wants another woman to talk with, feel free to pass along my info to her. She’s strong, continuing to make her life better and I feel she’ll make it through quite well. One day at a time. She’s in my thoughts, as are you!
    hugs,
    Laura

Leave a Reply

