First Day of My New Life

This might take some getting used to.  And a lot of discipline.

I’m beginning to realize my ‘new life’ is going to have a lot of freedom.  As of right now I’m taking 3 classes during the Fall semester (recommended by my advisor and putting me at ‘full time’), one of which is online.  The other two are at night, from 4:10-6:55 on Wednesdays and Thursdays.  That leaves a LOT of ‘free’ time.  Right now without any work it probably feels like more time than it will later when I have a lot to work on.  But either way, if I don’t have a solid action plan, it would be easy to nap/relax/facebook/blog the day away.  So I’m currently working on my new organization system to figure out the best way to keep myself motivated and on task.

I also started looking for part-time jobs, right now specifically baby-sitting/tutoring/personal chaffeur.  It seems to me the ideal job is one that allows me a certain amount of potential flexibility depending on the work load during different weeks.  So I’ve left some messages and posted on Craigslist and we’ll see what comes of that.

Some ratings from my new life:

NAVIGATING A SUPER LARGE STATE SCHOOL: 2

raleigh-nc001

I just don’t like it.  I feel like every time I go somewhere I struggle to find parking, get inside and then wait in line just to find out I forgot to bring something or need to visit some other building first.  I thought it was bad at AU, but it turns out that’s nothing.  At least there you can walk between all the buildings!  My new plan = drive in to campus with my bike, park and then travel by two wheels the rest of the day.  You can lock it up anywhere, get around quicker than walking, and get a work out all at the same time.  Going to try it out tomorrow.  I’ll keep you posted.

MY EXCITEMENT ABOUT GOING TO A SCHOOL WITH SCHOOL SPIRIT AND A FOOTBALL TEAM: 10

I CAN’T WAIT FOR FALL!!!  Who’s down for tailgating and football?!?

Alabama.qxdRETURN TO THE TOBACCO TRAIL: 7

So after taking care of some minor housekeeping, I got bored of being inside and decided to take my bike out to the Tobacco trail.  It felt great to be outside, and when you’re on a bike it adds a breeze that makes 93 a bit more bearable.  It was still a bit hot, however, so I’ll have to take some points off for that.  My bike has also been acting up again, so couldn’t shift to any of the higher gears.  -1 for that.

IMG_1363

ALMOST FALLING OFF MY BIKE AT A CROSSWALK BECAUSE I FORGOT TO TAKE MY FEET OUT: 2.

No injuries left it just being a little scary and probably entertaining for those watching.  One of these days I’m actually gonna wipe out.

Totally pumped to return to Tuesday night climbing tonight at Vertical Edge!


2 comments

  1. Hey Janice! I didn’t know you were going to NC State…that is great! Welcome to ACC football! Clemson plays ya’ll on 11/14. We’ll have to do some trash talking before that! Good luck with your first semester! 🙂

Leave a Reply

