Save the Whales. Lose the Blubber: Go Vegetarian.

peta-save-the-whales

Are you serious?

I mean honestly, who in their right mind would think something like this is okay?  Especially a seemingly progressive organization like PETA.  Am I being too harsh?  I’m not even sure where to start with this one, but I do know there are two HUGE problems with this advertisement recently found in Jacksonville, Florida:

1) Calling overweight women ‘Whales’ on a giant billboard in the middle of a city is the most appalling thing I’ve ever heard of.  Why is it that anytime we speak badly about people with excess weight it’s always women?  I don’t see a fat man in a speedo on the other side of the sign (not that this would make it any better, but at least it would make it less sexist), but just an overweight woman in a bikini.

2)  I’ve been a vegetarian on and off for different periods of my life.  The first time was in high school where I decided to do it for a month.  I ate a lot of muffins, pasta and french fries.  Clearly, a great way to avoid ‘blubber’.  The second time was in college.  I eventually had to give it up when I moved to Prague, and spent the first month there eating nothing but fried cheese and french fries (together, on a plate, as a meal).  Clearly, another great way to avoid ‘blubber’.  So the idea that just going vegetarian will help you lose weight is totally off base.  In fact, being nutritionally balanced and healthy while eating vegetarian is actually a lot harder, requiring creative supplements so your body gets enough iron and protein.  Most likely those with bad eating habits to begin with won’t be able to make the smartest choices on a vegetarian diet to keep themselves healthy.  I’m eating the most healthy I ever have now, and it includes a diet heavy with chicken and fish.  So there PETA.

I can’t believe I used to donate money to them as a kid.  NEVER AGAIN.

I rate this billboard a definitive 0.  I find absolutely nothing redeeming about it.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

