Conquering the Giant Cockroach

Another 10!

IMG_1406

Maybe a 9 because of the initial fear and hesitation when we had a second meeting in my bathroom tonight, but ultimately I conquered the fear, grabbed a spatula and mixing bowl and chased him down in my bedroom.  The first time I got him in the bowl he escaped (who knew they were so quick?), but Murph’s attempt to eat him scared him so much it was easy to capture him again.  And that time I was prepared with a tank top, gym shorts, and eventually a towel to throw on top of him and make sure he didn’t escape.  I brought the bowl downstairs and outside where he was released into the wild.

VICTORY!

Side note: After evaluating student drawings of cockroaches in class tonight (yes, that’s what we do here in grad school), I’m pretty sure this guy isn’t a roach.  Leaves me clueless as to what exactly he is, besides a giant, fast and super gross bug.  That’s enough to make me want to get rid of him…

Leave a Reply

