Fat Tire and Live Music

On the way to class yesterday I followed a very large Fat Tire truck, and must say I rather enjoy their slogan.

IMG_1483

I rate it a 7.  It’s no Carlsberg slogan (Probably the best beer in the world), and there’s no catchy song, but I like the message.  And it’s fun to say.

After class I headed over to the Brickhouse to meet up with Andy and his friend Mike.  I’ve never been before but it’s right near campus, and it turned out they had some live music last night.  I must admit, I’ve been a bit surprised how empty bars around NC State have been.  Granted, I’m old now and frequent them from the 7-10 hours vs. the 11-2 hours, but still.  Don’t college students enjoy happy hour anymore?  Maybe that was just a DC thing…

LIVE MUSIC: 8.5.  Regardless, it worked in our favor last night as we got an almost private show from one of my favorite local musicians, Alex Wilkins from Tripp.  I’ve rated them a couple times since we randomly discovered them on a bar crawl last year, and I continue to enjoy their music fairly regularly when driving (who has CD players in their house anymore?).  Since he was playing solo we got our fair share of requests in, leading to some Bryan Adams (while not Please Forgive Me, Summer of 69 is classic), Neil Diamond, Weezer (my favorite, Butterfly) and a new Coldplay song I’m totally loving recently (see below).  -1 for the missing awkward bass player who I love, and -.5 for missing the pretty awesome guitar player.  I would argue somewhat out of his control, but still would have made the experience better.  Overall, if you have a chance to see them (or him) play, you should most definitely do it.  In fact, if you’re around this weekend I just got word that there’s a music festival in Carrboro on Sunday from 1-?.  I think Tripp is playing around 6ish, so there’s your chance.  Do it.

IMG_1487

FOOD AT BRICKHOUSE: 7.  I’ll start by saying that if you’re looking to eat healthy, this is not the place to go.  Unfortunately this will probably effect my rating (there was literally one thing on the menu I would have eaten: a Bacon Ranch Chicken sandwich, grilled, with no bacon or ranch).  If you’re looking for a dessert menu of funnel cake, fried Twinkies, fried Snickers and fried Oreos, this is most definitely the place to go.  Fortunately, they had sweet potato fries which will most definitely up the rating. Ever since LA I’m an addict, and while I rarely order fries at a restaurant, if they have sweet potato fries I can’t resist (it’s rare, so I have to).  Now that I’m finding sweet potato fries more often I may have to start cutting myself off.  But seriously, theirs were awesome.  Highly recommended if you love them as much as I do.  Funny part of this picture is that Andy and I switched the chicken parts of our sandwiches (he gave me the plate with more fries, so I gave him the larger chicken) and my sandwich ended up with two bottom buns.  I don’t know why I find that so funny, but I do 🙂

IMG_1488

OUR BARTENDER: 8.  I’m a huge fan of sitting at the bar at restaurants, and a favorite pasttime of mine is heading to local bars alone and just hanging out with whatever random people are there.  I’ve met some of the coolest people that way, and the bartender can often singlehandedly shape the experience.  While I wasn’t alone last night, she was more than willing to jump in our conversation, offer menu suggestions, and put up with my neverending questions.  In short, she was pretty awesome.  I’d go back to hang out there for sure.

IMG_1485

TWO RANDOM DUDES PLAYING COLDPLAY: 9.  Speaking of Coldplay, after ‘Shazaming’ a song of theirs recently it took me to this YouTube video:

While not Chris Martin, I’m pretty impressed with the quality of these two random dudes in their basement playing, what I would imagine is a pretty difficult song.  -1 because I don’t get to look at Chris Martin while enjoying it.

Compare to the real thing…

Extra points because this video actually has Chris Martin in it.  I think I love him.

Headed to DC tonight for a quick stop before hitting the road to PA.  Inevitably some good times with Jeff and Fatty will mix with the fabulous Malt Shop.  Until then, just living for the tens 🙂


One comment

Leave a Reply

