The Parents (and Maggie) Visit NC!

FAMILY TOUR OF NC STATE: 6.  It was great to get a chance to show the parents where I spend my Wednesday and Thursday nights, but to be honest, I don’t spend a whole lot more time there than that.  So, you can imagine the quality of the tour.  I could show them the two buildings I have class in, and everything else is a ‘large brick building on the left… I’m pretty sure they have classes in there.  Or maybe it’s a dorm… one of the two most likely though.’  I then drove them downtown to show them Raleigh and the capitol, and the tour sounded pretty similar.  Perhaps I should study up on my cities so I can give visitors better tours…  Either way it’s above a 5 because any tour with me is bound to be enjoyable 🙂

PA092173

DAKOTA AND MAGGIE’S RELATIONSHIP: 8.  Murph and Dakota’s relationship has been an interesting one to observe, ever since I adopted Dakota last February.  At first they didn’t like each other (Dakota was wary, Murph was just plain mad that someone was invading his space), they eventually grew to get along, and even play on occasion. The end result, however, seems to be keeping their distance and not having a whole lot do with one another.

Maggie (my parents’ new puppy) is a whole nother issue.  She is a constant nudge with both of my dogs, but it’s even more entertaining with Dakota.  He spends most of his time lying around, often with his head laying on the ground, and she just barges right up to him, starts climbing all over his face, or burrowing underneath his head.  Once she gets down there she flips over and starts wiggling around like a bug, often kicking Dakota’s face.  Have I mentioned before that he’s the most patient dog ever?  Well, he is.  He just continues to sit there allowing her to frolick around under his nose, and sometimes even encourages it.  I’ve never seem him so puppylike as when he’s playing with her.  The other morning he even began chasing her around my apartment (while he’s played tug of war with Murph, he’s NEVER chased him) hoping to continue the play.  I’m pretty sure they’re in love.

-1 because there’s still no puppy cuddling.  With the three dogs, is it really too much to ask that I end up with one of those cute puppy cuddling pictures you see on calendars?

-1 because Maggie left this morning and I’m pretty sure Dakota’s moping…

PA102183

IMG_1616

MY HOMEMADE TURKEY CHILI: 9.  I’ve rated this before, but haven’t made it in forever.  I am reminded how delicious this is, and it only takes 30 minutes.  Must. make. more.  Best when eaten with tasted homemade Rosemary bread… but then again, isn’t everything better when eaten with that?  (You’ll notice in both pictures there’s a good beer in the background… another must for making this a 9)

IMG_1618

BACKYARD BBQ PIT: 8.  Another repeat rating, and again, a huge success.  Last time my mom came down to visit we stumbled upon this dive of a BBQ place, and figured my dad would have to love it.  While not the cleanest or fanciest place, I actually think that ups the rating.  Aren’t dives known for having the best food?  If it’s not pretty or clean, you’ve gotta make up for it somewhere.  For only $5.50 I got some dark chicken, mac and cheese, hush puppies and cole slaw.  -1 because they were out of corn.  However, when he rang up all our food I’m pretty sure he didn’t charge us for everything so I almost want to give that point back.  -1 for the health factor… you’ll feel guilty for days and this time I almost couldn’t force myself to eat the greasy mac and cheese despite how good I knew it would taste.

IMG_1612

IMG_1614

SUNDAY AT WEAVER STREET: 10!  You just can’t beat it.  My parents came along for my usual Sunday morning climb, and while Paul, Glen and I climbed like the professional climbers we are inside (that’s right, we’ve just received sponsorship… more to come on that later), my parents walked the Chapel Hill trails outside with the two puggles.  Inside we received a surprise visit from Laura and Snook which hands down made it the best Sunday climb in a while.  Not only did we climb hard but we also had many special visitors (perhaps the two are related?).  Either way it puts us in good shape for the competition this weekend.

Breakfast at Weaver Street again involved great company, live music and some beautiful weather.  The pups were even pretty well behaved 🙂

IMG_1629

Paul, Snooky and Glen

IMG_1631

Laura (and her adorable hair) and my Dad (loving the candid shot, I'm sure)

PUPS TENNIS BEHAVIOR: 8

After we got back from Weaver Street we decided to get in a game of doubles tennis before cooking for the Framily dinner that night.  Lauren joined and I must admit, humbly of course, that we won the World Championship of Tennis.  That’s right.  I know most of you weren’t aware this large event was happening in our area this weekend, but not only did it happen, we also took home the trophy.  Figuratively of course.

The rating, however, is not for our fabulous tennis, but instead for the incredible dog behavior.  I started taking Murph to the courts when he was little, where he would proceed to whine most of the time because he was tied up and I wasn’t paying him any attention.  Over time he learned, and now I tie one dog to each post and they both promptly lay down silently the entire time we’re playing.  LOVE IT.

-1 because dogs aren’t technically allowed on the Park Ridge courts, so it could lead to us never returning…

-1 because I still haven’t trained either to pick up tennis balls and bring them back to us (and to think one of them is a retriever…)

IMG_1632

IMG_1633

After tennis I returned to put on some football and good music, and start preparing dinner.  I unfortunately have no pictures to prove any ratings, so instead will have to say that dinner was just ‘fabulous’ (see how much more effective ratings are in describing an experience???).  The veggie lasagna came out well, and despite a euchre loss we all still had a great time 🙂

DAKOTA’S ANGRY MISBEHAVIOR: 1.  While we were eating we put all three dogs out on the porch (without an actual kitchen table, a bunch of food on the coffee table is just a little too much temptation for them).  After the two puggles began howling (thanks to their beagle dads) we put them in the bathroom and storage closet (it’s almost a room, I swear).

Dakota was NOT happy to be left outside.  As soon as he came into the living room he began peeing on the floor, and despite me yelling ‘NO!’ at him he just looked straight up at me and kept going.  Forever. Seriously, for like 45 seconds.  This is after having gone to the bathroom about 3 hours before (keeping in mind that he normally holds it for up to 7-8 hours).  +1 because my mom quickly grabbed an empty wine glass and held it under him to try to keep it off the carpet.  Quick thinking and hilarious (although gross).  The night will live on as the framily dinner where Dakota peed in a wine glass.

Until next visit, just living for the tens!

5 comments

  1. This was one of the most entertaining posts ever! I owe you a phone call, but I’ll give you a hint and say I am looking forward to your competition this weekend 😉

Leave a Reply

