Making Strides Against Cancer

As many of you may be aware (and how could you NOT be!), this is Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  This year it hits particularly close to home for me, as my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer this summer.  One of her friends, Pauline Midori, a dedicated volleyball player and humanitarian, has organized a team for her to walk in, for the October 17th fundraiser in Harrisburg.  My family, and many of their friends, will be joining them, and their hope is that the funds raised from these events all over the country will make a difference for the future.

baby-boobie

A message from my mom:

Why am I walking?

19941.72448999.custom

The last 4 months have been an eye-opening, and life changing time for me.  Since diagnosis on June 2, thru surgery June 30th, and now 4/6 chemo treatments done, I continue to grow emotionally, endure physically, and feel more connected with the need for a cure for this disease for my daughters sake.  My mother faced this twice, now me, and I want to stop the progression.
And you can be a part of it, too.

I have signed up to walk and hope you will join me in my effort by signing up to join my team or making a donation in support of my participation. Hope starts with us.  For further information on my status, check my blog called Meds and Maggie, that is where the team name came from – Maggie is our new pup!

19941.1647380234.custom

To donate to the team click here.  Any amount helps, and sends a strong message of support, so don’t let that stop you!

MY MOM’S TEAM MAKING IT TO THE TOP 10 FOR AMOUNT RAISED: 7.  Clearly a good thing, but right now they’re in 10th.  Let’s see if we can move that up a bit…

One comment

  1. Hey Janice (and your mom)! I’m so glad to see you’re participating in this walk! My mom was diagnosed last year and we have been going through the same eye opening experience. I ran last week in the Susan G. Komen Race for a Cure down here in Houston, it was such a great day and our team had so much fun raising money for this cause. Good luck with the walk and great job on fundraising!

Leave a Reply

