Dog Escapers and Rainy Days

DAKOTA RUNNING OUT MY APARTMENT DOOR (WHICH ACCIDENTALLY BLEW OPEN IN THE HURRICANE) RIGHT AS MY TWO NEIGHBOR DOGS WERE IN THE HALLWAY: 0.

It’s one thing if he hurts a dog when he’s on leash and they come up to him, but a whole nother story when he escapes from my apartment and runs straight for the two small dogs out for a walk.  Then I’d be in big trouble.  Thank god we stopped him before any damage was done (other than my neighbor who will continue to hate me and the panic attack I’m still in the process of recovering from).  Currently serving time out on the porch and learning from his mistakes.

IMG_1288

HURRICANE IDA: 2.  I’ll give it two points.  1) Since we’re always in a drought here in North Carolina, I’m sure the rains good for us, and 2) it was a great reminder of how lucky I am with my flexible part time work.  Got to sit around all day in my sweats and hide away from the gross weather.

Until class that is.

-points for dogs with too much energy (multiple rainy days in a row, with no walks, will do that), soaking wet clothes while sitting in an already cold classroom, no rollerblading, raincoats that don’t work, not owning an umbrella, and an ever growing pool of water collecting in the ceiling of my apartment…

hurricane-ivan

DRIVERS IN THE RAIN: So I’m standing at a crosswalk trying to cross Hillsborough on my way back from class, in the pouring rain, with no umbrella, getting wetter and colder by the second.  Many people, at the same time, are driving their cars down Hillsborough, dry, warm and sitting in their comfy seats, probably listening to some nice music.  Why is it that they can’t stop for 10 seconds and wave me on so I can escape the Hurricane?  I rate their common sense a 2.  I’ll give them 2 points for the fact that they might actually realize it and be too self-centered to care.

Note to self.  ALWAYS LET WALKERS HAVE THE RIGHT OF WAY IN THE RAIN.

001109b42f73098751c00f

COOL NEW WEB 2.0 TOOLS: 9.  I spent two years in my classroom getting super excited about new technology that would get my kids pumped about class.  And then I left the classroom.  Still equally excited by these things, I just haven’t been given as many opportunities to work with them, or write about them, until recently.  In the past week I’ve created my own online class using blogs, wikis and screen recorded lectures, and watched a lecture that introduced me to about 15 new INCREDIBLE web 2.0 tools in about 20 minutes.  PLUS, I got asked to present a workshop up in New York City to new teachers about all the incredibly technology I love thinking about, learning about, talking about, and most importantly sharing with other teachers.

It’s been a good week in the world of technology 🙂

web-2-0-logos

2 comments

  1. wow congrats on the NY gig very cool…and sometime you’ll have to tell the rest of us what all those new tools are, there are definitely several i’ve never heard of in that picture.

Leave a Reply

