Hello Vancouver!

The Olympics are one of my favorite events ever.  Second only to the televised version of the Ironman (I’m such a sucker for all the underdogs), I do love that it provides two weeks of competition, backstories where we learn more about all our favorite athletes(my favorite part) and emotional victories (my second favorite part).  I love it so much I’m legitimately concerned how I will get any work done in the next two weeks.

While I did miss some of the Opening Ceremonies last night (let’s be honest, I pretty much missed all of it) in order to spend some quality time with good people, I’m raring to go today 🙂

SHORT TRACK SPEED SKATING: 8

Absolutely my favorite event of the winter Olympics.  This began in 2002 when Apolo Anton Ohno entered the scene and I fell in love.  Not only was he a great US speed skater to cheer for (now that the days of Dan Jansen and Bonnie Blair are gone), but he also happens to be incredibly attractive, a huge factor when you’re 18.

On top of Apolo, there’s also the excitement and grace that comes with short track speed skating.  When people take over the lead it’s always a graceful little nudge into the pack, and can happen at any time.  The races are totally unpredictable, even if you have favorites.  This also has the potential to make it heartbreaking (see Apolo circa 2002).

The races don’t last too long, so you’re completely engaged the entire time.  Plus, you get to watch your favorite skater multiple times per event due to the different heats.  Again, an advantage when your favorite skater is that attractive.

-1: the unpredictability makes me really nervous…

-1: the danger factor.  Some of those falls look pretty dangerous.

Needless to say, I’m preparing for Apolo’s first race that will happen in a matter of minutes…

APOLO’S FIRST RACE: 10!

Everything I could have hoped for 🙂  Hung back (literally, last) for almost the entire race.  With four laps to go he pulled to the front around the OUTSIDE.  That’s right, while most skaters make their move on the inside (clearly the easiest and quickest way), Apolo is so good, and so fast, that he pulled around everyone and zoomed to the front.  He then had the time to turn around and check where everyone else was TWICE before completely killing them. Will update with a YouTube video as soon as it’s posted (which I’m sure it will be within 24 hours).

I love it.  SO excited for more!!!  (And according to NBC’s convenient Apolo countdown icon in the corner of the screen, I only have 17 minutes to wait :))

VANCOUVER WEATHER: 2

How unlikely that Canada would have significantly less snow than DC and Pennsylvania, and would suffer from 50 degree days the month of the winter Olympics.  They then had to ship in snow and actually cancel events.  What if it doesn’t get any warmer?  I’m curious what their alternatives are for downhill skiing if the snow continues to melt…

LUGE ACCIDENT:0

I have to be honest, I’m actually pretty pissed about this one.  So much so, that if I could give negative numbers, this one would definitely dip below 0.

For those who haven’t heard, during practice runs a Georgian luger, Nodar Kumaritashvili, crashed and died.  What a horrible and tragic way to start the Olympics.  But what makes this even worse are the warnings they received prior to athlete’s arrival about the safety of the track.  It reminds me a bit of the Titanic, where they had the information to prevent the tragedy, but chose not to.  Interesting how they quickly made adjustments to the track after the death, in my mind admitting guilt and finally taking action.

Sorry to end on a sad note, but that kind of stupidity needed a rating.

Off to support my favorite speed skater!!!

Leave a Reply

