Mac One-to-Ones

I’ve been an Apple fan for about 5 years now.  My senior year of college I gave in and decided my desktop just wasn’t good enough.  This was twofold: 1) I couldn’t do any work while laying on my bed (despite many creative attempts to rearrange my room/desk to make this doable) and 2) it was a PC.  I was sick of programs not responding, of a weird death countdown, and other PC related sicknesses.

So, being the poor college student that I was, I purchased a used iBook online.  Despite the horrible BO smell it arrived with, and the old operating system (I didn’t even know it was possible to purchase an iBook with OS 9), I still managed to fall in love.  While it died shortly after, I found myself buying a brand new MacBook, the day it was first released, with some graduation money.

Now, four years later, I’ve traded it in for an upgrade, the 13″ MacBook Pro.  While I’ve already fallen in love, that’s actually not what this post is about. This post is about a brilliant discovery brought to me by my local Apple Store.  It’s called Mac’s One-to-One program.  Ever heard of it?  Yeah, me neither.

Until now.  I’m not quite sure when they introduced it, but the One to One program is essentially personal training for your Mac.  You pay for a year membership ($100), and can sign up for unlimited one to one appointments at your nearest Apple Store (or another store if you’re traveling, or feel the desire to travel).  You sign up specifying a general category that you’d like to learn more about, and arrive with specifics that you want your trainer to teach you.  This can look several different ways:

  • You’ve just bought your first Mac and need some help learning the ropes and switching from a PC.
  • You’ve just bought a new Mac, and want someone to help you transfer all your data.
  • You’d like to learn more about the new iPhoto/iMovie, and how to organize photos and videos.
  • You’re doing a video project for school/work, and want someone to work with you for an hour.
  • You think Podcasts would be an awesome thing to learn.

No matter what you want to learn, there’s a trainer to help you out.  I LOVE IT.  For someone who does a lot of consulting work for different people, this is the best professional development ever.  They’re constantly teaching me new things that essentially make me more marketable.

Have I mentioned how much I love this?

MAC ONE TO ONE’S: 9

-1: You can only sign up for one appointment at a time, meaning it’s hard to get in more than one a week.  So while I say unlimited sessions, you’re actually limited to around 52.

Find out more here.

Leave a Reply

