The Bachelorette: Ali’s Season

I’m going to admit two things up front:

1) I left the last season of The Bachelor with Jake disillusioned.  I didn’t like Jake from the start, and I definitely didn’t like his pick.  Plus the season was just more of the same, and I began to feel Bachelor-ed out.

Last night’s season premiere of Ali’s season felt the same way, and until the teaser at the very end I was convinced this would be the only episode I’d watch.  We’ll see how it turns out, but I’m not committing to a full-season, and am flirting with the idea of giving up the addiction.

2) I made the mistake of reading RealitySteve yesterday.  Known for his spoilers, I knew about Vienna last season far before the finale (although was in a denial for a long time, and was convinced he had gotten it wrong).  I read yesterday for some inside info on the start of the season, not at all expecting what I got: the final two guys.  This is going to limit some of what I write as I don’t want to give it away for anyone else, and am going to do my best to remain neutral towards all guys.

Who are we kidding.  While I won’t give away the final two, there will be no neutrality.  Some were just too ridiculous to get neutral treatment.  That being said, on with the ratings!

ALLIE’S AWKWARDNESS/NERVOUSNESS: 4

Totally understandable to be nervous before meeting the 25 men you will be interviewing for marriage on national TV.  I’m pretty sure she came off as more nervous than most of the guys (emphasis on MOST).  Luckily for her, I’m sure most guys didn’t notice because 1) they saw her for only about 5 minutes each and 2) they were probably more nervous than her.  As an at-home viewer, however, we got to suffer through it all.

I think this awkwardness is because of her young age, and I also think it will be a predictor of an immature season as a whole.  Ali is one of the youngest Bachelorette’s ever, and her collection of men is also one of the youngest- bound to create some college-style drama.

ALI’S OPENING LINE: 1

Right when Ali’s walks into the house after all the men arrive she gives a little speech, welcoming them and basically warning them not to hurt her.  She finishes with, ‘I just ask that you all have my back because I’ll have yours.’  Interesting… especially considering she’ll send home 24 throughout the season.  So it seems as if she might only have one guy’s back…

God this show has made me cynical.

KIRK’S SCRAPBOOK: 9

As we saw once again last night, every guy is working incredibly hard to be memorable.  While important on the first night, it’s still a bit ridiculous to watch since a first date would NEVER (at least I hope) start with the kinds of corniness we witnessed.

However one guy really seemed to get it right.  Kirk showed up for his one-on-one time with Ali with a homemade scrapbook.  While he got a little crap from some of the guys beforehand, I totally dug the idea.  You’re trying to present yourself in very little time, and rather than just talk about himself he put some important pictures and pages that represented big parts of who he was.  Far more interesting to be able to SEE what he’s actually done, rather than just hear him talk about it.

Way to go Kirk 🙂

ABC.COM: 9!

So impressed with some of the improvements between last season and this  season, including photos from the previous night’s episode, even organized by people in them!  This is going to make it super easy to find the photos I’m rating, something that never happened during Jake’s season.  Also a line of photos with all the men, including a rose under their name if they’re in, and no rose it they got cut.  This’ll make it easier to keep up 🙂  LOVE IT!

KASEY’S VOICE: 2

Please cut him soon so we don’t have to listen to this all season.  Please?

ALI’S FAKE LAUGH: 10

Thanks to Stallings for pointing this one out.  Either her fake laugh is the best I’ve ever heard, or she really thinks these guys are that funny.  Trust me, they’re not, so it’s one hell of a great laugh.

DEREK’S COMMENTS ABOUT HUNTER’S UKULELE: 10

So I’ve mentioned already some of the crazy things the men are doing to get her attention… one of which was Hunter’s decision to play her a song on the ukulele.  In front of everyone.

What I haven’t yet mentioned (in detail) are all the horrible things these guys have to say to and about each other.  To be fair, most are nice but a couple already stand out as being huge jerks who’d rather make everyone else look back then focus on making themselves look good.

However, when Hunter played the song on the ukulele they cut to a ‘confessional’ by Derek, where he was surprisingly kind to Hunter, something I totally dug.  His comments basically said he thought Hunter’s song was pretty great, and it made him wish he’d have tried a little harder to stand out and do something like that for Ali.  I liked the way he gave Hunter props for doing what he did, instead of talking trash about him because he’s jealous.

Cool points for you Derek.

Sadly nice guys finish last and Derek was sent home.

ALI’S DRESS ON JIMMY KIMMEL: 5

It has the potential to be cute, and the pattern and style are adorable.  But it does it fit her super weird and low or is it just me?

Until next week, just living for the tens!

One comment

  1. I dont know if I will make it thru this season either. Last night was painful on many levels.

    HOWEVER, should Janice decide to give up the blog, I may just take over!!

    I couldn’t agree more with all of the observations and comments thusfar.

Leave a Reply

