Castle in the Sky

Last year for Laura’s birthday we rented a log cabin at Black Mountain, a framily favorite, and competed in our second Company Climbing Team competition.  We enjoyed the Snuggie, first met Maggie, and walked the streets of downtown Asheville.  You may recall…

This year?  We decided to rent a castle in the sky.

Think I’m exaggerating?  Check it out…

THE CASTLE: 10

There is absolutely no way to rate this anything less than a 10.  Here’s why:

  • 8 bedrooms (one with 13 twin beds)
  • GIANT kitchen (see pictures below) that could practically fit everyone in it at once
  • Billiard room
  • Movie theatre with 12 recliners and Rock Band
  • Zip line
  • Room full of children’s toys and books
  • Indoor endless swimming pool
  • Hot tub
  • Olympic sized trampoline
  • iMac
  • iPads
  • Flat screen TVs EVERYWHERE
  • On top of a mountain
  • House intercom system

What am I missing?  Pretty sure this is every child’s dream come true.  Add in 25 of the most amazing people in the world and it’s the closest I’ve ever come to rating something above a 10.  Out of respect for the system, I’ll stick with the 10 🙂

THE VIEW: 10

There are all kinds of possible views from the top of a mountain, but as far as I’m concerned if you’ve got a 360 and it’s beautiful it’s a 10.  The view that was a 10 minute hike from the castle met all criteria, and led to some awesome walks in the morning, afternoon and at sunset.  My heart is smiling 🙂

FOOD: 9

If past framily gatherings have shown you anything, you probably could have guessed the spread would have been pretty incredible.

This doesn’t even begin to describe it.  Vegan breakfast, a chili cookoff, every snack known to man, a castle birthday cake, the most addicting oyster crackers of all time, bread bowls, vegan waffles, pineapple bread pudding, birthday coffee and much, MUCH more made this weekend cause for a week full of trips to Crowley’s (my local gym).

-1 for the amount of food that inevitably went to waste…


LAURA’S BIRTHDAY SCAVENGER HUNT:

I’ll let Laura rate this one.  But if I had to guess, Katie’s brainchild was a WILD success.  With a house this big, how can you not arrange a scavenger hunt?  Complete with beautiful poetry, and trips from trampoline to pool bottom, Laura definitely had to work for her gifts this year.  Plus it was fun for all of us to watch 🙂

(Can you see the zipline???)

THE MAN TUB: 8

I’m pretty sure at first glance I thought they were about to head over Niagara Falls.  At second glance I couldn’t help but burst out laughing.  The hot tub outside was not your classic hot tub, and I’d be willing to bet was not meant to fit 5 full grown men… but they made it look good 🙂

-2 for how many failed attempts at pictures happened before this (finally) blog friendly photo.

CHILI COOKOFF: 9

For dinner Saturday night we had many chefs in the kitchen, all competing for the best chili.  While I can’t award a winner since the only one I ate was the vegan version, they all looked AMAZING.  Throw in some Persian rice from Mazzi, and it made quite the meal.

-1 for the food jealousy that occurred… especially the white chili that looked, and smelled, AMAZING.


PAUL’S BREAD BOWL: 8

What a creative solution to the problem of which chili to choose… a carefully carved bread bowl with two slots- one for each kind 🙂  -2 because breadbowls never fit as much soup as you want, they soak up all the liquid, and often leave you so full you can’t have seconds.

But the idea was brilliant.

SUNSET ON TOP OF A MOUNTAIN: 10

Not much more to say about this one.  Life is good 🙂

BEING SURROUNDED BY AMAZING, INCREDIBLE, AND INSPIRING FRIENDS AND FRAMILY: 10!!!

I love these people so freaking much.  I am the luckiest person ever to have somehow stumbled upon them 2 years ago, and am thankful to be able to still find time to see everyone despite living 2 hours away now.  I can’t wait for the day when my dream street becomes a reality, and I can somehow convince everyone I love in my life to move onto the same street as me.  Oh how good life would be 🙂

RE-ENTRY: 2

I love my students, and I’m actually excited to return to the classroom on Mondays, but it’s so hard to adjust back to the real world after a weekend like this.  It’s also hard to return to a house where you live alone when you’ve spent all weekend surrounded by people.  Saying goodbye all the time is hard.

Until next time, just living for weekends like this 🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

