V-Day

I know my thoughts on this topic are pretty controversial, but I couldn’t help but want to share when tonight at Wal-Mart I was greeted by this:

and this:

and this:

Yup, it’s that time of year again.  Time for Valentine’s Day.

And while women all over the country (and world) decide this is a time to stock up on wine and tissues, I happen to LOVE Valentine’s Day.  Single or not, this holiday has to be one of my favorites.

In fact, I rate it a solid 9.

Here’s why:

  • My parents did a great job celebrating the holiday with us growing up, meaning I never waited around for the right guy to buy me chocolates or some flowers.  I knew every year I could count on roses from my Dad at home, and an awesome scavenger hunt from my mom.  It always started with our Valentine’s Card, which every year had a post-it inside that contained a clever poem leading us to the next clue.  If I happened to be dating someone and he did something nice, great.  If not, who cared?
  • That being said, the holiday is definitely not about the gifts, no matter how much Wal-Mart and Hallmark will try to convince you it is.  The holiday is about showing people you love that you love them.  Not necessarily ‘I’m madly in love with you’ kind of love, but ‘You’re amazing and I’m so thankful you’re part of my life’ love.  And how many holidays do we have that encourage us to share that with everyone in our lives?  And what could be so awful about a holiday celebrating love?

-1 because of how many people do get sad about it.  I personally hate listening to the complaining for the two weeks before it, and hate seeing so many people sad about what should be a happy holiday.

The moral of the story is, I challenge everyone to reclaim Valentine’s Day and celebrate it for what it really is.  A chance to spend quality time with the people you care about, and show them how much you care.  Whether you do that best with flowers, a giant oversized Teddy bear, a homemade card, or just a hug.  Do it.  And why not start now?  Cause according to Walmart, it’s Valentine’s Season!

Until February 14, just living for the tens 🙂

3 comments

  1. Are those really $39 teddy bears at walmart?

    Completely agree with you and wish more people would see the holiday as an opportunity to show their love to all those important people in their lives, not just significant others.

  2. It appears so…

    And I love that you’re commenting on my blog during class. It’s nice to see you’re keeping your priorities in order.

Leave a Reply

