The Magical History Tour

At the start of this year I began discovering how much cool historical stuff there was around, both in North Carolina and nearby in places like Washington DC and Gettysburg, PA.  While these things clearly all existed before, I was now viewing the world through a history teacher lens… all of these became amazing places that I would LOVE to be able take all my students.  As a matter of money and logistics, that was obviously not possible.

SO, The Magical History Tour was born.  The name was brilliantly created by my dad, after the famous Beatles song ‘Magical Mystery Tour’, which has also become the show theme song.  Inevitably every time I play an episode, students comment on the fact that I created a song to go along with it, as it sounds so much like ‘Magical History Tour’.  I obviously let them believe it.

Now on to the ratings for my favorite Magical History Tour moments…

MEETING ‘LINCOLN’ IN GETTYBSURG, ON THE 147th ANNIVERSARY OF THE GETTYSBURG ADDRESS: 6

It was A.MA.ZING to be in Gettysburg on the anniversary of the event, and to get it on film.  However the speech was longer than anticipated, less historical and more about his life as a re-enactor, AND my camera battery died right before the end of the speech.  Plus, trying to get a picture with him was a TRIP, and it didn’t even come out that well 😦

WEARING AN AUTHENTIC CIVIL WAR DRESS (HOOP SKIRT AND ALL) TO THE REMEMBRANCE DAY PARADE: 10

I had NO IDEA how much more fun parades were when dressed up in full Civil War gear.  So inspired that I even got my very own shortly afterwards…

Check out Episode 3: Gettysburg.

DRAGGING JILL AROUND DC AND MAKING HER FILM ME: 9

Her whining is almost funny.  Most of the time.  -1 for the rest of the time.

Leads to some good footage though 🙂

Check out Episode 2: Abraham Lincoln.  And there will be more to come in Episode 6: World War II.  That’s right, I somehow talked her into TWO days of city filming.

SECRETLY RECORDING PEOPLE WITHOUT THEM KNOWING: 10

Some of my very best footage has come from sneaky shots.  Including park rangers at the Lincoln Memorial and Independence Hall, the cheesteak guy at Geno’s in Philly, and the old man working the customer service desk at the Air and Space Museum.  Plus a couple open interviews with Confederate Soldiers and a WWII vet.  All in all, interviewing rocks.

Check out Episode 4: Philadelphia for some of the secret footage.

Now this Saturday I’m headed back to DC with four students for the first ever Magical History Tour starring 11th graders.  I CAN NOT WAIT.

Stay tuned for Episode 5 🙂

Leave a Reply

