The Wheels are Spinning…

I’ve had my bike trainer since I bought the bike, and tonight was finally the night where I decided I was GOING to set it up.

PROCESS OF GETTING THE TRAINER SET UP: 2

I may have dropped about four f-bombs as I attempted to get it aligned correctly, as well as dropped the bike on Murphy once.  In my defense, he was being nosy, no damage was done, and it kept him at a safe distance the rest of the workout.

I would like to never do this again.  In fact, I may need to just buy another bike so I never have to un-mount it.

FINALLY GETTING MY BIKE LOADED ON MY TRAINER: 9


Once it was loaded I got a kickass workout all while catching up on last night’s Bachelor.  Couldn’t ask for a better indoor ride (except for maybe my favorite Tuesday afternoon spinning classes), especially considering the potential of competing in the upcoming Tri-Valley Triathlon.

-1 because I now have ZERO desire to remove my bike from the trainer, so now have a giant bike taking up my somewhat tiny living room.

Oh well.

BIKE GEARS GETTING JAMMED MID-“RIDE”: 0

Definitely not fun to switch gears and have them all of a sudden lock up.  Worried for a minute that the ride would have to end, until…

FIXING MY OWN BIKE GEARS: 10

I bought this bike when I was dating someone who was a professional cyclist (well, practically) so every time I had a problem I would just run to him and have him fix it.  This seems convenient, which it was, but ultimately it left me totally unprepared for situations like these.

It reminds me of when I dated an eagle scout and began thinking I was all ‘outdoorsy’ until I realized I had no clue how to set up my own tent or start my own fire.

So just diving in and trying to fix it on my own, and SUCCEEDING, was definitely the highlight of this ride.

Not even taking a point off for this…

Completely covering both my hands.

Until next time, just living for the tens 🙂

2 comments

  1. Glad to see you got it up and running. I’m sure poor Smurph was just trying to “help” when you threw the bike at him. Poor guy!

Leave a Reply

