Ballin’ for JB

How have I not rated this yet?!?  I have no idea, but I’m excited to kick off the return of Rate Your World with one of the best events from the past few months.  I’ve updated very little since Javaris’s death, and I hope this follow up is proof of the impact he had on the community, as well as what his memory has done for the strength of the Pride.  Not only the Pride of 2012, but the entire school, 5-12.

Our Women’s Empowerment club on campus (which I am privileged to advise) made the decision shortly after Javaris’s death to host a Student vs. Teacher basketball game fundraiser in his memory.  I was immediately on board as I love anything that involves competition, beating students, and any excuse to talk trash to my kids.  In a loving way, of course.  The idea was to raise enough money to help cover costs of the funeral, as well as the sign that will soon be hung on the gym dedicating it in his name.  Boy did they ever do a great job.

The result= over $1,000 raised, an amazing evening of basketball, and an opportunity for everyone to remember Javaris and his love of the sport.

While I got to play (as is about to be shown), I also got to play with my new camera and editing equipment… hopefully this video will show you the many reasons I rate this event a 10.

Leave a Reply

